EN | DE

Single-Cell Center Würzburg

The Single-Cell Center Würzburg is a joint competence center of the Helmholtz Institute for RNA-based Infection Research (HIRI) with the Faculty of Medicine of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität (JMU), the University Hospital Würzburg (UKW), the Fraunhofer Translational Center for Regenerative Therapies (TLZ-RT), and the Max Planck Research Group at the Würzburg Institute of Systems Immunology (WüSI).

The center’s objective is to analyze and understand diseases at the level of individual cells. In the future, this will enable the earliest possible and most reliable prediction of a disease and how it can be treated in the best possible way.

Starting from infection research, the Würzburg Single-Cell Center will also investigate cancer, neurodegenerative disorders or cardiovascular diseases at the single cell level. The broad method spectrum of RNA sequencing technologies is to be rapidly enhanced in this context.

The Single-Cell Center is funded by the Bavarian State Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy. Its goal is to combine scientific, clinical and methodological expertise in Würzburg. In the medium run, the competence center is intended to develop into a strong service unit with the participation of the JMU and the UKW.

Learn more about the Single-Cell Center and its key technology in our explainer animation:

At a glance

Foundation

2021.

Current Spokesperson

Prof Jörg Vogel.

Founding Members

HIRI + JMU + UKW + WÜSI + TLZ-RT.

Funding

Seed funding from Bavarian State Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy.

Unique Features

Direct link from basic research to medicine.
Partnership with strong research institutions.
Campus broadly positioned in life sciences and physics.

Benefits & Goals

Pooling scientific, clinical and methodological expertise relevant to innovative single-cell research at the site.
Strong service unit for personalized medicine of the future.

More about the Single-Cell Center

 

How single-cell analysis works
Publications
Team & Contact
Affiliates
HIRI Research in Single-Cell Analysis 
Sequencing equipment

Let's take a step forward

Interested in our work?

EN | DE

Single-Cell Center Würzburg

Das Single-Cell Center Würzburg ist ein gemeinsames Kompetenzzentrum des Helmholtz-Instituts für RNA-basierte Infektionsforschung (HIRI) mit der Medizinischen Fakultät der Julius-Maximilians-Universität (JMU), dem Universitätsklinikum Würzburg (UKW), dem Fraunhofer-Translationszentrum für Regenerative Therapien (TLZ-RT) und der Max-Planck-Forschungsgruppe am Würzburger Institut für Systemimmunologie (WüSI).

Aufgabe der Einrichtung ist es, Krankheiten auf der Ebene einzelner Zellen zu analysieren und zu verstehen. Dadurch soll es künftig besser gelingen, frühestmöglich und verlässlich vorherzusagen, welchen Verlauf eine Erkrankung nehmen wird und wie sie bestmöglich behandelt werden kann.

Ausgehend von der Infektionsforschung wird das Würzburger Single-Cell Center auch Krebs, neurodegenerative Störungen oder Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen auf der Einzelzellebene erforschen. Das breite Methodenspektrum der RNA-Sequenzierungstechnologien soll dabei zügig weiterentwickelt werden.

Das Single-Cell Center Würzburg wird aus Mitteln des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie gefördert. Es ist sein erklärtes Ziel, die wissenschaftliche, klinische und methodische Expertise in Würzburg zu bündeln. Mittelfristig soll sich das Kompetenzzentrum zu einer starken Serviceeinheit unter Beteiligung der JMU und des Universitätsklinikums Würzburg (UKW) entwickeln.

Auf einen Blick

Gründung

2021.

Aktueller Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Jörg Vogel.

Gründungsmitglieder

HIRI + JMU + UKW + WÜSI + TLZ-RT.

Finanzierung

Anschubfinanzierung aus Mitteln des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie.

Profil

Direkte Einbettung von Grundlagenforschung in Medizin.
Kooperation mit forschungsstarken Partnern.
Standort breit aufgestellt in Lebenswissenschaften und Physik.

Nutzen & Ziele

Bündelung der für innovative Einzelzellforschung relevanten wissenschaftlichen, klinischen und methodischen Expertise am Standort.
Starke Serviceeinheit für eine personalisierte Medizin der Zukunft.

Mehr vom Single-Cell Center

 

So funktioniert Einzelzellanalyse  
Publikationen
Team & Kontakt
Partner
Einzelzellanalyse am HIRI
Sequenziergeräte

Machen wir den nächsten Schritt

Interessieren Sie sich für unsere Arbeit?